Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

File types (jpg, png, gif)

Edward River elections

  • Edward River elections

Edward River's first council chosen

Edward River Council's first crop of councillors has been chosen.

There is a mix of former Conargo Shire and Deniliquin Council councillors on the merged council.

Former Conargo mayor Norm Brennan topped the polls from ex-Deniliquin councillors Ashley Hall and Pat Fogarty.

Mac Wallace, Norm McAllister, Margaret Bull, Peter McCrabb, Peta Betts and Nick Metcalfe comprise the new council.

Article continues below

The names were revealed at a declaration of the polls at Deniliquin's Multi Arts Centre at 10am.

Only Mr Brennan, council chief executive Adam McSwain and unsuccessful candidate Peter Robinson were present for the announcement.

Mr Brennan has thrown his hat into the ring to lead the new council, after a strong showing at the polls.

Mr Hall, who served as the administrator after the merger said he was pleased to be re-elected and promised to help guide the new-look council into the future.